Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse Online Collections
House of Seven
Copyright & Use
Contributor Interest Form
Jamestown S'Klallam History
Jamestown Tribal Library
The House of Seven Generations was developed by the Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe and made possible by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
© 2011 Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe
Collection Searches Powered by CONTENTdm®
Ethnobotany is the study of how people of a particular culture and region use indigenous (native) plants for food, medicine, tools, and spiritual practices.
Burke Museum--Salish Bounty: Traditional Native Foods of Puget Sound
Food is a blessing, gratefully and respectfully gathered and prepared, given and received with just as much gratification and respect. - Coast Salish core value of food
Food is the essence of culture, from the collection, to the preparation, to the serving and then the eating of food; it is what makes us who we are. It binds us to our families, our community, our history, our identity, and our home.
Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe--yəhúməct Traditional Foods and Culture Program
yəhúməct Traditional Foods Project involves three inter-connecting focus areas which are based upon S’Klallam culture and traditions; healthy eating, physical activity, and seasonal cultural practices. Using a Village model, we are bringing groups together to learn about harvesting and processing land and sea foods, and plants, bark, and roots with cultural and medicinal uses.
Native American Ethnobotany Database
Native American Ethnobotany offers visitors a comprehensive "database of plants used as drugs, foods, dyes, fibers, and more, by Native Peoples of North America." This searchable database is the result of more than 25 years of work and contains over 44,000 items, which "represents uses by 291 Native American groups of 4,029 species from 243 different plant families."
Northwest Indian College Cooperative Extension Office-Traditional Plants and Foods
This site from the Cooperative Extension Office has a lot of great information on traditional plants and foods. These programs of the Northwest Indian College promote self-sufficiency and wellness for indigenous people through culturally grounded, multi-generational, and holistic classes related to native foods and medicines. Be sure to scroll to the bottom for more links and videos.
Northwest Indian College Traditional Plants and Foods Program
Northwest Indian College Traditional Plants and Foods Program -- Learn more about traditional plants and foods and how they are used.
USDA Forest Service-Ethnobotany
Find out how plants have been used through the ages for food, medicine, clothing, dyes, and many more uses.
Ethnobotany books in collection
Pacific Northwest Native Plants
Information ~ ʔuč
1070 Old Blyn Hwy, Sequim, WA
1033 Old Blyn Hwy, Sequim, WA 98382